Alberta Equine Connection
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Anyone with advice?

+7
Gallamist
Reinergirl
Gypsy_Vanner
JezzaBella
wildrosepony
EquineAlberta
smolcicacreage
11 posters

Go down

Anyone with advice? Empty Anyone with advice?

Post  smolcicacreage Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:26 am

Hi I need some advice. I am just learning again how to handle horses and how to work with them. My problem is that I use to ride occasionally, until I was takin for a wild ride on the back of a clydesdale ( and then stepped on when I finally got off). Ever since than ( 15 years or so ago) I have had this fear of being with horses. I have decided that I want to learn again. I bought a beautiful quiet 2 yr old palino. Over the fence is fine but as soon as she starts to approach me I panic. So hence my husband does all the work with her. I really want to spend time with her on my own buttttttt Im fearful of her power. One day last year I decided the heck with it Im doin it. I took her off the post my friend tied her to and took her for a walk until she started pushing on me. I took her into a circle but she kept pushin everytime we came out, to the point that I had to have my friend take her back. Sooo any suggestions on how to overcome this fear and feel confident again would be greatly appreciated.

smolcicacreage

Back to top Go down

Anyone with advice? Empty Re: Anyone with advice?

Post  EquineAlberta Wed Apr 15, 2009 12:39 pm

A two year old horse is like a young teenager; they push the boundries and don't always know their own limitations to keep themselves (and you) safe. They have a habit of acting first, then MAYBE thinking about it later.